Recipe for Success

You must be asking yourself who is giving me the authority to speak about things like innovation or success especially when I am a person who feels like a failure many a time. Well, the only reason I write about these topics is because they truly fascinate me and I have very high standards sometimes. It’s good to understand what one means by success and what are the goals related to this aim. Another good question is how high should one aim? Personally, I feel we cannot define our own success if we don’t have goals in our minds. I mean what constitutes success and just when do you know that you’ve succeeded? Who are the kind of people who succeed?

Success, I feel, is very personal. It usually pertains to social status but personal success is more about believing that you are where you want to be in life and are in a position to achieve more or else settle down depending on your motivation and future plans.

In general, I have observed the following traits in the successful person:

  • THEY KNOW WHAT THEY WANT

Honestly. What more could you want?!

This one’s a bit tricky as what we want may not always be realistic. This is not to say that it is not achievable. However, people who usually have clear aims in their mind find it easier to navigate their life towards those areas they deem will lead to their definition of success. A good place to start is to ask yourself: “What does success mean to me?” Just write a list and stick it up somewhere you can see it. It will keep you on track just in case you deviate.

  • THEY WORK HARD

"Do it like they do on the Discovery Channel"

Yes, ladies and gents. There’s no way around this one. I am a habitual procrastinator and although I always get things done in the end, I know that if I gave them that extra time I could have done a much better job. The fact is that no matter how many “get-rich-quick” stories you’ve heard there’s always some element of hard work involved. Working hard is not only relevant to career or financial security but can work wonders in anything from education, to relationships to your local pie-making contest. For example, if your definition for success is “Having a long and lasting relationship” then you better be ready to work hard for it. You won’t attract positive things to your life if you don’t make an effort.

  • THEY ARE POSITIVE

One of my fave typography artists on redbubble.com. His name is jegustavsen. Click image for more.

When life gives you lemons don’t grab the salt and tequila and drown yourself in self-pity. I noticed that people who succeed often have this ability to stay calm and weather the storm. I think they manage this because in their minds they believe that whatever happens they will achieve their goals. I think it also depends on emotional stability. This is not to say that sensitive people can’t succeed but perhaps they may be tempted more than others to cancel out their gut feelings and take every bad experience as a sign that they are truly the failures they think they are. Don’t do this. It will stop you from achieving so much in your personal, social and professional life.

These are my Top 3 observations. I’m sure there are many more but this is what I have noticed in the people around me who inspire me with drive and motivation. It’s best to identify your own personal definition and take it from there.

And finally, here is MY current Recipe for Success:-

  • To leave this world a better place
  • To clear my student debt and control my finances wisely in the next 5 years (It’s always a good idea to put a date near your goals)
  • To always seek knowledge throughout my life
  • To inspire others
  • To own my own property
  • To have done voluntary work in countries outside of Europe
  • To look back at my life with satisfaction that I have lived it to the fullest and always tried to do the things I wanted even if not all were achieved
  • To stick to my core values
  • To do what I love every day
  • To have respectful relationships with those around me
  • To be remembered as an honest and trustworthy person
  • To be happy with who I am
Leave a Reply

